Board and Staff Members

The Northland Foundation is guided by a diverse Board of Trustees, and the ongoing work of the foundation is carried out by our staff team. The Maada’ookiing Advisory Board provides oversight for Indigenous-led grantmaking to individuals, and the Youth In Philanthropy Advisory Board helps approve grants to children-and-youth led projects. An Emeritus Trustee Group of former Trustees and President stays connected and continues to support our mission.

Their important contributions to nurturing wellbeing and belonging in our region are deeply appreciated.

2022-2023 Board of Trustees

Angie Miller, Chair
Executive Director (retired)
Community Action Duluth

Shaye Moris, Vice Chair
(stepped down Dec. 2022)
Executive Director
Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank

Peter McDermott, Treasurer
Grand Rapids

Cindy Anderson Bina, Secretary
Counselor (retired)
Vermilion Community College

Jamie Adams
Economic Development Planner
Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
Solon Springs

Baabiitaw Boyd
Owner & Operator
Pocket Knife Press, and Research Professional, The Ojibwe People's Dictionary

Ashley Hall
Interim Program Director
Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank,
and Owner, Evolve U Fitness & Wellness
International Falls

Mary Harrelson, Interim Vice Chair
Licensed Psychologist
Mary Rademacher Psychological Services
Grand Portage Reservation

Sumair Sheikh
(stepped down Sept. 2022)
Executive Director
Duluth LISC

Roy Smith
Director of Education and Talent Development
Iron Range Resources/Minnesota State Colleges & Universities

Michelle Ufford
(stepped down May 2023)
Director of Workforce Strategy
Essentia Health

Emeritus Trustee Group

Phil Anderson

Lisa Bodine

Dave Clusiau

Jeff Corey

Eddie Crawford

Steve Downing

Lynn Goerdt

Bill Hansen

Cindy Hansen

Edwina Hertzberg

Jason Hollinday

Mary Ives

Trent Janezich

Ken Johnson

Lisa Kruse

Nevada Littlewolf

Scott Martin

Antoinette Monster

Shaye Moris

Nancy Aronson Norr

Mark Phillips

Allen Rasmussen

Diane Rauschenfels

Tom Renier, President Emeritus

Tom Rider

Joe Sertich

Chuck Walt

Ed Zabinski

Maada'ookiing Advisory Board

Baabiitaw Boyd
Misizaaga'iganiing Anishinaabe,
Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Shane Drift
District I Representative
Bois Forte Tribal Council,
Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

Crystal Greensky, MSHA
Great Lakes Hub Deputy Director
Johns Hopkins Center for Indigenous Health,
Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians (citizen) & Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (1st gen descendent)

Mary Harrelson
Gichionigaming Akiing Gichigami Anishinabeg,
Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Alexandera Houchin
Fellow/Citizen of the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Leanne Johnson
(stepped down Mar. 2023)
Indian Education Program Director, ISD 701
Couchiching First Nation

April McCormick
Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Jaylen Strong
Bois Forte Heritage Center and Cultural Museum Director,
Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

Melissa Walls, PhD
(stepped down Sept. 2022)
Great Lakes Hub Director
Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health,
Bois Forte & Couchiching First Nation Ojibwe (1st gen descendent)

Youth in Philanthropy Board


Sydney Timonen
Moose Lake

Ava Beer
Vice Chair
Moose Lake

Seth Parkin

Emily Class

Neela Piri

Jackson Strand

Olivia Allen
Two Harbors

Alaena Happ Furo
Two Harbors

Rizal Howes

Pete Onchwari

Lila Sakuray

Joey Wallace

Adam Weisgerber

Owen Weyer


Brad Flynn
Programmer Analyst, ALLETE

Jamie Adams
Economic Development Planner, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Lara Parkin
Community Education Coordinator, Aitkin

Tim Stratioti
Branch Director, Superior, Boys & Girls Club of the Northland

Dan Thewis
Teacher, Two Harbors High School

Northland Foundation Staff

Jan Amys
Senior Program Officer

Zane Bail
Chief Operating Officer

Cayla Bellanger DeGroat
Program Officer

Heather Brouse
Chief Financial Officer

Nichele Canavan
Executive Administrator

Carol Chipman
Grants Manager

Michael Colclough
Business Services Director

Jeanine Dahl
Communications Director

Vicki Hagberg
SBDC Regional Director

Christopher Henagin
SBDC Business Consultant

Taylor Holm
Program Officer

Melissa King

Katherine Lahti
SBDC Business Consultant

Mary Lundeen
SBDC Business Consultant

Suzanne Rauvola
Systems Manager

Sandy Scheiber
Program Assistant

Tony Sertich

Lisa Shrum
Accounting Clerk

Michelle Ufford
Director of Grantmaking

Amanda Vuicich
Economic Development Specialist/Small Business Consultant

Curt Walczak
SBDC Associate Director

Julie Weisgerber
Program Associate