The Northland Foundation is guided by a diverse Board of Trustees from across our service area, and our staff team carries out the ongoing work of the foundation. An Emeritus Trustee Group made up of our former Trustees and President stays connected and supports our mission. The Maada’ookiing Board provides oversight for our new Indigenous-led program. We thank all these individuals for their dedication.

2020-2021 Board of Trustees

Jason Hollinday, Chair
Director of Planning
Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Shaye Moris, Vice Chair
Executive Director
Second Harvest Northern Lakes
Food Bank

Peter McDermott, Treasurer
President/CEO (retired)
Minnesota Diversified Industries, Inc.
Grand Rapids

Cindy Anderson Bina, Secretary
Counselor (retired)
Vermilion Community College

Baabiitaw Boyd
Sr. Advisor on Objibwe Language Revitalization Initiatives
Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Mary Harrelson
Licensed Psychologist
Mary Rademacher Psychological Services
Grand Portage Reservation

Trent Janezich, Ed.D., Immediate Past Chair
Executive Director, Advanced Minnesota
Minnesota State

Lisa Kruse
Education Coordinator
Riverwood Healthcare Center

Angie Miller
Executive Director (retired)
Community Action Duluth

Lori Rothstein
Leadership and Civic Engagement Educator
University of Minnesota Extension
Grand Marais

Sumair Sheikh
Literacy Instructional Coach
Cloquet Public Schools ISD #94

Roy Smith
Director of Education and Talent Development
Iron Range Resources/Minnesota State Colleges & Universities

Emeritus Trustee Group

Phil Anderson

Lisa Bodine

Dave Clusiau

Jeff Corey

Eddie Crawford

Steve Downing

Lynn Goerdt

Bill Hansen

Cindy Hansen

Edwina Hertzberg

Mary Ives

Ken Johnson

Lisa Kruse

Nevada Littlewolf

Scott Martin

Antoinette Monster

Nancy Norr

Mark Phillips

Allen Rasmussen

Diane Rauschenfels

Tom Renier, President Emeritus

Tom Rider

Joe Sertich

Chuck Walt

Ed Zabinski

Northland Foundation Staff

Jan Amys
Senior Program Officer

Zane Bail
Chief Operating Officer

Heather Brouse
Chief Financial Officer

Carol Chipman
Grants Manager

Michael Colclough
Business Services Director

Jeanine Dahl
Communications Director

Vicki Hagberg
SBDC Associate Director

Lynn Haglin
Vice President/KIDS PLUS Director
(retired June 2021)

LeAnn Littlewolf
Senior Program Officer

Mary Lundeen
Business Consultant

Betsy Olivanti
Business Consultant

Suzanne Rauvola
Systems Manager

Carole Saylor
Executive Administrator
to President and Board

Sandy Scheiber
Program Assistant

Tony Sertich

Lisa Shrum
Accounting Clerk

Erik Torch
Director of Grantmaking

Curt Walczak
Business Consultant

Julie Weisgerber
Program Associate