Trustees and Staff

The Northland Foundation is guided by a diverse, actively engaged Board of Trustees who live in northeastern Minnesota. The board meets quarterly. The Emeritus Trustee Group includes former trustees who have chosen to stay connected and help support our mission. A dedicated staff carries out the ongoing work of the Foundation.

2019-2020 Board of Trustees

Trent Janezich, Ed.D., Chair
Executive Director of Advanced Minnesota
Minnesota State

Jason Hollinday, Vice Chair
Director of Planning
Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Victoria Hagberg, Secretary*
Business Consultant
Northland Small Business Development Center

Tom Rider, Treasurer
Lutsen Mountains Ski & Summer Resort

Cindy Anderson Bina
Counselor (retired)
Vermillion Community College

Mary Harrelson
Licensed Psychologist
Mary Rademacher Psychological Services
Grand Portage Reservation

Lisa Kruse
Education Coordinator
Riverwood Healthcare Center

Peter McDermott
Minnesota Diversified Industries, Inc.
Grand Rapids

Angie Miller
Executive Director (retired)
Community Action Duluth

Shaye Moris
Executive Director
Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank

Sumair Sheikh
Instructional Coach
Cloquet Public Schools ISD #94

JoAnn Smith*
Business Consultant
Koochiching Economic Development Association and Small Business Development Center
International Falls

*Victoria Hagberg and JoAnn Smith resigned from the Board of Trustees as of July 1, 2020 and October 19, 2019 due to affiliation with the Northland Small Business Development Center.

Emeritus Trustee Group

Phil Anderson

Lisa Bodine

Dave Clusiau

Jeff Corey

Eddie Crawford

Steve Downing

Lynn Goerdt

Bill Hansen

Cindy Hansen

Edwina Hertzberg

Mary Ives

Ken Johnson

Nevada Littlewolf

Scott Martin

Antoinette Monster

Nancy Norr

Mark Phillips

Allen Rasmussen

Diane Rauschenfels

Tom Renier

Joe Sertich

Chuck Walt

Ed Zabinski

Northland Foundation Staff

Jan Amys
Senior Program Officer

Zane Bail
Director of Development and Special Projects

Alex Bastien
Loan Portfolio Manager

Heather Brouse
Chief Financial Officer

Carol Chipman
Grants Manager

Michael Colclough
Business Finance Director

Jeanine Dahl
Communications Director

Lynn Haglin
Vice President/KIDS PLUS Director

Mary Lundeen
Business Consultant

Betsy Olivanti
Business Consultant

Suzanne Rauvola
Systems Manager

Carole Saylor
Executive Administrator to President and Board

Sandy Scheiber
Administrative Assistant

Tony Sertich

Nora Thoren

Erik Torch
Director of Grantmaking

Curt Walczak
Business Consultant

Julie Weisgerber
Grant Program Assistant/HR-Payroll