Northland Foundation Region

Northland Foundation RegionOur Region

The Northland Foundation serves the seven-county area of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis Counties.

A Snapshot of the Northland

  • 326,225 people make their home in northeastern Minnesota. This includes:
    • 17,941 children under the age of five
    • 48,510 children and youth ages 6-18
    • 56,195 older adults (65 and over)
  • There are 68 cities located within the seven-county region.  The city of Duluth is the largest with a population of 86,918, followed by Hibbing, Cloquet, and Virginia.  The smallest city is Tamarack with a population of 69.
  • Northeastern Minnesota encompasses one-fourth of Minnesota's land mass – 18,185 square miles – an area larger than nine states in this country.
  • There are 11 institutions of higher learning in the Northland.
  • The major industry sectors in this region are:
    • Education, Health, and Social Services
    • Retail Trade 
    • Arts & Entertainment, Recreation, Accommodation and Food Services 
    • Manufacturing 
    • Construction 
    • Agriculture, Forestry, Mining, Fishing and Hunting
  • Nearly half of northeastern Minnesota's workforce is employed in service or service-related industries.
  • There are between 350 and 400 nonprofit organizations serving northeastern Minnesota communities.